Designed by architect Eric Round, this Art Deco service station is a Sandy Bay landmark. Originally known as the Riverview Service Station, the double-brick, two-storey building was completed in 1936 near the start of the Channel Highway – the main road south at the time. Coinciding with a rise in motor vehicle ownership and the popularity of motor tour holidays, it was the first cut-price fuel outlet in Tasmania. During the Second World War, the service station was a centre for war effort fundraising events, with the sale of scallops and crayfish and the collection of scrap metal.
Address: 479 Sandy Bay Road, Sandy Bay
Highlights: Eclectic apartment. See the fascinating layers of history of this iconic building.
Building specs: Type: Petrol station and apartments. Built: 1940. Architect: Eric Round